WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

The South Carolina’s Workers’ Compensation Act provides a system for workers injured on the job to receive medical care and financial benefits without having to prove anyone was at fault. At the Smith, Watts and Associates we have been helping to get workers compensation for job-related injuries.

In South Carolina the basic premise and purpose of the South Carolina Workers’ Compensation Commission is to compensate employees for the economic consequences of work-related injuries, illnesses, and disease without regard to fault. Everyone employer and employee within South Carolina is presumed covered by the S. C. Workers’ Compensation Act.

To be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits, the worker must have been injured while working within the scope of his or her employment. Generally, any injury suffered by an employee at the employer’s place of business during working hours qualifies.

If you are injured while on the job, you should immediately report the accident to your supervisor or the owner of the business. This will alert the management of the injury. If you do not report the accident and injury, you may jeopardize compensation for your medical bills or other compensation, which you may be entitled to by state law. The injury and accident must be reported within 90 days from the date of the accident or the injured worker faces the possibility of statutory denial of the claim. Claims for compensation filed with the South Carolina Workers’ Compensation Commission must be made within 2 years after the injury is sustained or an occupational disease definitely diagnosed.

Let our years of experience assist you with receiving benefits from the South Carolina Workers’ Compensation Commission. To find out more about your legal questions, call us at (843) 332-4700 or by e-mail..